The beginning of Techy Tuesday!

Standard

Welcome to The Whole Shebang Site first and foremost! I hope you find what we’re doing here to be fun and exciting and informational all at the same time. I know that’s a lot to ask for, but why not reach for the stars then be happy to at least see the clouds?

So here’s the first Techy Tuesday where we will bring you some info about shortcuts and tips and tricks on all things techy. I’m going to write the first one but I hope to eventually rope my husband (who is an IT professional) into doing some more in depth material.

Let’s get started with some simple stuff.

Who doesn’t like to find things easily? Are you looking for a word or phrase in a document? Press Ctrl and F and the Find window will pop up. Voila!

What about cutting and pasting? Got a chunk of text you want to move elsewhere or a graphic that needs to be moved several pages away? Ctrl+X to cut, Ctrl+C to copy and Ctrl+V to paste. Easy peasey, lemon squeezy!

What if you want to lock down your system? Hit the Windows key and L.

Need to see what is running and why on earth it isn’t running right? Ctrl+Alt+Delete will get you there on time with little to no hassle.

I will leave you with those on this our first sojourn into the Techy World, a distance place with many unspoken rules. If you have tips and tricks –  share, share, share! Or contact me through the Give Us A Holler page and I’d love to have you teach us a few things.

I admit most of these are PC/Windows tricks because I’ve never touched a Mac, so if you have Mac tips bring them on!

Until Wordy Wednesday, my lovely ones – Misty

3 responses »

  1. If you use a password on your computer then it will immediately pop up with your password screen. I think if you don’t use a password it will probably just chuckle at you 🙂

Leave a Reply

