Music: SHINE ON!

Standard

Hey there blog readers!!! Today marks our first guest at The Whole Shebang Site and hopefully the first of many! I am beyond pleased to introduce you to my brother, and fantastic musician, Shine Delphi. Now that I in Delphi is long like Pie, which I love. Pull up a chair, get comfy and get to know Shine and his music. Let’s give him a big round of Hi and how are you πŸ™‚

Shine DelphiFirst off, how would you describe your sound?

My sound is a mixture of all the music I’ve loved throughout my life. As a teenager, I was as metal as you could get, but as I got older my taste changed and I started to fall in love with many different styles from jazz to soul to funk to pop. My Grandparents always listened to music from the swing era when I was growing up and I think that had quite an influence on me as well.

What inspires you to write music?

Life. Love. Emotions. All things are inspiring in their own way. Sometimes the most depressing moment can show a shimmer of light that pulls you through. I’m always looking for that light. Music has always been my outlet for the things I couldn’t just say.
Do you come up with the music or the words first?
I never do the same thing. Sometimes the words come first, but I would have to say I’m more partial to the songs where the words came after the music. The words just seem to fit nicer when I just start singing to a piece of music I’m writing. It causes me to flow my ideas instead of sitting and thinking hard about what I want to say, I just say it. But I have had success with both forms.
Do you have a favorite song of yours?
I like a lot of the new stuff I’m writing. I can’t say I have a favorite. All of my music seems important to me because each new song allows me the chance to get better at what I love and every song has its moment in time that makes it special.

Who would you consider an influence on your music?
I feel as if I am influenced by everyone. When I listen to any song I feel influenced by it. Sometimes songs influence me to not want to write a song like that (hahaha) but most of the time even in songs that aren’t my cup of tea, I can find something about it that I like. Maybe they modulated to a different key or maybe the lyrics are very deep or maybe it’s just really damn catchy and I can’t get it out of my head!!! Even people who aren’t musical influence my music, teachers, friends, the old man on the bus who talks to himself. I’m always listening and watching, therefore, I feel as if I’m influenced by it all.

Tell me something quirky about yourself.
Hmmmm quirky??? I fall asleep with me head at the top of the bed, but when I wake up I’m on the roof in a penguin hat and frilly laced boxers. Is that quirky enough? (Misty here: I can totally vouch that this is true and it is quirky! LOL!)
What do you aim to make people feel when they listen to your music?
I hope they smile. I hope they laugh. Sometimes I even want them to get choked up, mostly I just want them to feel the emotion I felt when I wrote the song.

What’s next for you and when can I expect a new CD?
I’m currently recording my new CD and I hope to release it by April. I’ve been putting up little tasters as I record it, though, so you can expect some more new songs to hit the airwaves before the actual release :)))))

Do you sing in the shower?
Only when no one else is there :)))))
Thanks for coming to The Whole Shebang Site, Shine. There were some things in here even I didn’t know!
If you want to know more about Shine or sample his music, please look at the below links. I love his music and I hope you will too.
Linkage:
Like Shine on facebook at www.facebook.com/shinelifelove
Listen and watch him on reverbnation at www.reverbnation.com/shinelife Shine Delphi
5 responses »

  1. I’m glad to see such a wide range of your likes. It always bothers me when musicians blind themselves to genres other than the one they work in. Good luck with your musical future!

  2. Thanks for the wonderful compliment Susan!!! Vicky, I couldn’t agree more!!! The world is so vast that there is no reason we shouldn’t all try to see more of it :)))) and to miss schroder, those frilly lace boxers are from my own personal collection, I like to feel beautiful just like anybody else πŸ˜‰ hahahahaha

Leave a Reply

