Books: Mariposa Cruz

Standard

Welcome and hello to Mariposa Cruz! Thanks for hanging out with us here on The Whole Shebang Site today.  Pull up a chair and get to know a new to me author!

ROAR

What genre do your books fall into or is it a genre blended? Paranormal romance, though my current WIP is a contemporary romance.

What inspires you to write?  Sometimes a twist on a situation grabs my attention and won’t let go (like what if a single mom was a werewolf and didn’t know it).

Do you listen to music or set the mood somehow to get writing? Uninterrupted time is precious in my household with two young adults and their troop of friends, I take advantage those rare alone times to write whether I’m in the mood or not. I don’t have any specific rituals, but I usually have a mug of tea at my elbow and my cat snoozing at the foot of my bed while I work.

Do you have a favorite book of yours? Hard to narrow it down to just one, but “The Eight” by Katherine Neville is one of my favorites.

Who would you consider an influence on your writing? My maternal grandmother lived with us while I was growing up. She was an avid reader and told me family stories including ones about her cousin who served as a nurse during WWII. 

Tell me something quirky about yourself.
I love classic horror movies, The Wolfman, The Phantom of the Opera.  The actors and directors of those times were able to tell great stories without all the special effects filmmakers have at their disposal today.
What do you aim to make people feel when they read your books?
I like people to identify with my characters (even the ones who happen to be shape shifters). To me, the great stories are the ones that you can relate to your own life, even if those stories are set in a completely different time or reality.

What’s next for you?
My current WIP is a contemporary romance which features one of my favorite passions, salsa dancing.
Do you sing in the shower?
No, I usually sing in the car with the radio at full blast.

Blog: http://mariposacruz.blogspot.com/

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/mariposa.cruz.180

Mariposa Cruz balances writing with working as a fulltime corporate paralegal. As a writer she has interviewed a variety of real-life characters from cowboy crooners to rock divas. Her articles have appeared in local magazines and indie newspapers. She currently resides with her own pack of two kids in Reno, Nevada.

7 responses »

  1. Sounds like really good books. I love paranormals – and contemporaries. 🙂 And I loved Phantom – but not so keen on Wolfman (though i do love shapeshifter books!).

    • Hi Vicky,
      It’s amazing how well the original Phantom has held up over time. Lon Chaney provided his own poignancy to the role. I enjoy writing paranormal-fun to have a chance to play with reality.

  2. Ooh, salsal dancing. I love when something uncommon is featured in a contemporary romance! You said it’s a passion of yours. How does that manifest? Do you just go to dance clubs, or teach classes, or compete? Or is it just dancing around your living room? 🙂

Leave a Reply

