Books: Mia Fisher!

Standard

Let’s give Mia Fisher a warm round of howdy as she visits us today on The Whole Shebang Site!

Mia FisherBorn and raised in New England, Mia Fisher spent twenty years freezing in the Midwest before returning to the east coast. An author of over thirty romance novels, she moved to the sunny state of Florida after the death of her Cheyenne/Lakota husband in 2011. She lives there with her youngest child of four and a cat with evil intentions. She works in Social Work when she’s not writing.

Now that we know a little about Mia, let’s get to know more…

What genre do your books fall into or is it a genre blended?

Weirdly enough I sort of cross the spectrum – I’ve got mystery/suspense, straight contemporary, paranormal, erotica and, ironically, an inspirational on the shelf at the moment.

What inspires you to write?

Anything and everything.  I can honestly say that there is no one thing that inspires me – I’ve developed storylines from a myriad of different people, places and things.

Do you listen to music or set the mood somehow to get writing?
Absolutely. Every book I’ve ever written has a playlist! Right now Daughtry is in the background for my new WIP, Captivated.
Do you come up with the plot or characters first?

I usually develop my hero or heroine first and then develop the plot around them. I know that some people frown on that but it works as far as I’m concerned. It’s also easier to make developmental changes throughout the manuscript without having to make too many changes.

Do you have a favorite book of yours?

I think that out of my most current releases, Illusions would have to be my favorite.  I love the chemistry I created between the hero and heroine.

Who would you consider an influence on your writing?

This is a hard one – I have so many awesome writer friends and colleagues that influence my writing. That’s one of the awesome things about being a member of RWA and its chapters – there’s a living, breathing library to turn to when there’s a question regarding a manuscript. If I had to choose one person it probably be Pamela Palmer – she literally created the Feral Warrior series from nothing. No research, no personal experience to go on, she just developed it from the top of her head and went from there. To me, that is the ultimate talent – to write so effortlessly that people think you’ve put years of research into a topic or a setting to make it sound believable when, in reality, you’ve done nothing at all.  I think that is a fascinating ability – one that I’m still working on even after twenty-three years.
Tell me something quirky about yourself.

I’m seriously socially-phobic.  I don’t have a problem leaving the house but the less people I have to deal with between the house and where I’m going the better off I – and anybody I encounter –will be. lol
What do you aim to make people feel when they read your books?

I want my readers to become lost in the passion that the hero and heroine feel for each other.  We live in a world where a lot of awful goes on regularly – I like my books to provide an escape from that. I want someone to feel they’re part of the story.

What’s next for you?

My latest book, Paramour, just came out on February 1st. It’s the first book in the Bayside Romance Erotica Series and I’m very excited about it! Now I have to finish Bad Medicine, which is book two in my NABSU mystery series!

Do you sing in the shower?

No. That is soooo bad for your voice!

You can find Mia at:

www.miafisher.net

http://www.authormiafisher.blogspot.com/

@AuthorMiaFisher on Twitter

http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5410789.Mia_Fisher

http://www.theromancereviews.com/646223658

5 responses »

  1. Hi, Mia! Great interview! We have a couple of things in common. 🙂 I grew up in New England, too, and I’d rather not deal with people (ever!) if I can help it. Writers are the big exception, but only in limited doses.

    I look forward to checking out your books!

  2. You’re not alone in wanting to be alone! 🙂 I sometimes think it goes with being a writer. Your books sound great – and good for you for not limiting yourself. Stretching across genres stretches the imagination. Congratulations on the new publication and good luck!

  3. Hey, Mia. I’m startled at how much you have going on at once. You must be a juggling genius. I’m amazed by writers who have books in many different genres. Congrats on the new release and continued good luck with your career. (“Good luck” doesn’t mean you didn’t work hard and earn every bit of your success, just that all of us can benefit from a bit of good fortune now and then.) 🙂

Leave a Reply

