Art: Rebecca Maslowski!

Standard

I’m very excited to introduce you to our first Artist post. Enjoy!Rebecca Maslowski

What kinds of things do you generally paint or take pictures of?
I paint primarily with watercolors, at least that’s the medium I enjoy the most.  I’m not the most  patient person so watercolors serve me best. I can see my painting happening in one sitting if I choose. I love nature so my paintings are usually of outdoor landscapes, barns, birds, wildlife of all kinds. I keep a camera with me at all times when I’m traveling and often stop to take pictures of rural landscapes, particularly fields of cattle, wildflowers in bloom, clouds – anything that I think might come in handy for reference for a future painting.

What inspires you to create?

Without getting too “Zen” ,  I’m inspired by nature itself – I prefer being outdoors  – looking at trees,for instance – they mesmerize me  the way their branches twist and curl upward, it’s awe- inspiring really. I think the connected-ness (if that’s a word) that I feel with nature is my inspiration to want to somehow transfer that feeling onto paper. To save it, so to speak.

DCP02420Do you have the picture already in your mind before you paint it or do you start painting and uncover it?

I have an idea of what I want to paint, usually, but since I strive for realism, I’ll scour through my box of photos for an idea – sometimes I combine several into one painting. I love painting fall and winter scenes most.

Do you have a favorite painting of yours?

I don’t have a favorite per se but there are a few pieces that were perhaps more difficult to bring to fruition that I hold in better regard. I don’t always complete a painting in one sitting. Sometimes I will start two or three – maybe painting only the sky in each and then putting them aside to work on later. The ones with the most time involved for attention to detail are the ones I seem to cherish most.

Who would you consider an influence on your art?

I’m a giant fan of Andrew Wyeth – if you’ve not been to his museum in Kennet Square you must go.  There are also numerous wildlife artists that are phenomenal. I am in awe of James Bama and Bev Dolittle and while they are considered Western artists, their work is unbelievably realistic.

Do you listen to music when you paint? Who?

I usually have some music playing in the background while I’m painting – mostly classical if I really need to concentrate – Vivaldi’s four seasons is a good standby. Anything James Taylor & Carole King but also Gary Moore and Daniel Lanois.
It depends on the mood and what I’m painting but it’s usually not rock sing-a long because I’d be too distracted – I remember too many of the words and I’d be singing instead of painting.

Tell me something quirky about yourself.

My fantasy is to be a stand-up comedienne – I love to laugh and I love to make people laugh. Laughter truly is the best medicine! Oh, I talk to all the animals – you know, like “Hello, little chickadee, how are you today?” while filling up the back yard feeder. I once was honored to hold up my hand filled with seed and have a black-capped chickadee land on it- we definitely shared a moment.

What do you aim to make people feel when they view your art?

I hope that when someone sees one of my paintings it stirs to life their inner connection to nature and possibly recall a fond memory.

What’s next for you? DCP02436

I am not an illustrator but I have these animal characters in my head who are just trying to get out and be the background of a children’s story. So that may be my next adventure.

Do you sing in the shower?

Absolutely – actually I always have a tune playing in my head and I have to be careful I don’t start singing in the grocery store.

Thanks for being here today, Rebecca!!! You can find Rebecca on facebook at https://www.facebook.com/rebecca.maslowski

6 responses »

  1. I love your pictures, Becky. I’d love to be able to do what you do – but alas, the artistic genes skipped me in our family. To be able to do what you do is a true gift. Thank you for sharing. (And I can totally see you as a comedienne! You’d be great.) 🙂

  2. Great interview, Becky. I wonder how many of us who write secretly wish we could paint, too. I know I do. Your paintings are lovely, and I enjoyed hearing about your special moment with that black-capped chickadee. 🙂 (So Snow White!)

Leave a Reply

