Books: Natalie J Damschoder!

Standard

When I first started writing, it was straight contemporary targeting Harlequin (at the time, Silhouette). Then one day, I got an idea for a paranormal romance. I wrote a little. A long time later, I went back and wrote more. It ended up being my first long novel, and the book of my heart. It’s been rewritten and edited many times over the years, and I never got sick of it.

You know how interviewers always ask authors what their playlists are for their books, and what music inspires them? That’s so not me. I can’t listen to music at all as I write, and I rarely relate songs to my books. But at some point, “Hero” by Enrique Iglesias became inextricably tied to Soul of the Dragon. Every time I’ve heard that song for over 10 years, I think about a particular scene in Soul of the Dragon where the hero and heroine of the story are standing on a dark lakeshore fighting their feelings for each other. The agony in the song matches the agony between Alexis and Ryc.

I’m also not the kind of author who puts together collages or collects clippings for her stories. I’m not very visual at all. But when you write a book about a dragon, you almost have to start collecting dragons, right? Except there are no dragons like Cyrgyn. I’ve looked. Over and over and over. This resin hanging comes closest:

Dragon with Pentagram hanging

Except Cyrgyn is gold, not black, and his body is thicker—more lizard-like, less snake-like. I know. I’m incredibly picky. But there is no reality that matches the images in my mind, except the one I’ve created on paper.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

Soul of the Dragon cover

A thousand years ago, a jealous mage cursed a young lord into dragon form to keep him from his soulmate, a peasant girl coveted by the mage. They have three lifetimes to break the curse.

Twice they have failed.

Alexa Ranger doesn’t remember the lord’s son who was her soulmate three lifetimes ago, nor does she recall their previous attempts to break the curse—each one ending in her death. But she does remember Cyrgyn, the golden dragon who has haunted her dreams since childhood and has appeared to her now to begin their final attempt.

A highly trained spy, Alexa has been preparing for this mission her entire life. But her skills are no match for the desperate mage who has lost none of his command of magic—and none of his twisted, possessive need for her. She is determined to save the dragon she has come to love, but there is more than the curse standing in their way…

Buy now from:
Amazon
Barnes & Noble
Smashwords
All Romance eBooks
Kobo

~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Natalie carves her day up into a million small increments to accommodate her fiction schedule, freelance editing, day job as a chiropractic assistant, and the needs of her family, dominated by the Anti-Teenagers, who make all of the above really easy. When everything goes right, she gets to top off the day trying to guess the plot twists of her favorite TV shows before her husband does. Learn more about her and her books at her website and the Soul Series website.

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

