Books: Marian Lanouette!

Standard

I now introduce you to Marian, a mystery writer and a super patient person when I was having some technical email difficulties. Welcome, Marian!

 

BurninHell_500Where do you get the ideas for your stories?

They come to me out of the blue. Sometimes a situation can click a what if scenario.

What advice do you have for other authors wanting to self-publish?

The most important piece of advice is to make sure you have your work professionally edited.

Do you have critique partners?

Yes, I have three critique partners and they’re great. They offer great constructive criticism but always do it in a nice way.

What is your favorite dessert/food?

I love ice cream!

How likely are people you meet to end up in your next book?

Not very. I don’t base my characters on people I know. They all come out of my mind. With that said, I think everyone you meet leaves an impression on you. So maybe you add a trait from this guy, then one trait from that guy, than some fantasy mixed in and voila you have a character that’s unique.

Was your road to publication fraught with peril or a walk in the park?

Fraught with perils. I was naïve and sent my first novel in after I typed the end. That I was later to learn was a first draft.  Form rejection after form rejection a nice editor took the time to give me some advice.  Took some classes, re-wrote and edited the draft and moved on.

Give us an elevator pitch for your book.

After explosions rock their neighborhood, Rob whisks his wife away to mountain caves to wait out what they believe is the end of the world.  Across the state Roan Kline has the same thought. What happens when the three meet? It becomes a battle to the death.

Do you have a view in your writing space? I look out into the woods.

What does your space look like?  Most times, it’s cluttered with the day’s emails and word count.

Tell us about your hero.  Jake is a dedicated cop who knows who he is when he’s on the job. Off the job not so much. Give us one of his strengths and one of his weaknesses. Jake’s honest and his weakness is his inability to commit.

Tell us about your heroine.  Mia is a smart, strong woman who meets her match in Jake. Give us one of her strengths and one of her weaknesses. Her strength most times is the ability to be logical in a situation. Unless that situation involves Jake (her weakness)

What genres are you drawn to as a reader? I love biographies, mysteries and romance.

How far do you plan ahead?

I have two more books in the series outlined, waiting to be written.

One response »

Leave a Reply

