Art: Danita Cahill!

Standard

Copy of IMG_1597 - Copy (2)An Accidental Photojournalist

Scio 111I’ve always loved to take photographs. I got my first camera for my tenth birthday. We lived in the country and my favorite photography subjects were our farm animals.

I still gravitate towards animals when I have a camera in hand, whether the critters are my own menagerie of pets, wildlife, or the animals of others that I have been commissioned to photograph.

The funny thing is I always considered myself a writer, not a photographer. Photography was just a fun hobby. The professional photographer part came quite by accident. The editors of newspapers, and later magazines, began asking for photographs to illustrate the stories I wrote and submitted to them.

20 Dalton sits on muleAlthough I had read countless books on writing, taken writing classes, gone to workshops, traveled to conferences and joined numerous writing groups, I had never studied photography. It seemed I had a natural eye, but I had no technical training.

I’ve since read many books on photography, taken a class, a workshop and joined a camera club. I still have much to learn.

Slowly, as I could afford it, I worked my way up the camera food chain until the camera I have now, a Canon 5D Mark II, is smarter than I am. I’m still pouring over the owner’s manual and figuring out what all I can accomplish with this camera. Most of the time, I take better photos with my trusty old Canon Rebel – it’s become familiar and comfortable over the years of journalism assignments, like an extension of my arm.

046 (2) - CopyThere are two morals to this story. First, even if you sell your flute when you’re 14 to buy a word processor because you’re going to be a writer, you may wind up becoming something more. And second, if you like to take photos, take them. Take many. Take them constantly. Try different angles, different settings and different light situations. Don’t let an inexpensive camera stop you. I didn’t.

For more examples of Danita’s photography, check out her website Cahill Photojournalism: http://cahillphotojournalism.com/

And her miracles blog: http://miracahills.wordpress.com/

077 (2) - Copy

Bio:

Copy of Copy of IMG_0041[2]Danita Cahill is a full-time, multi-published, award-winning freelance writer and photojournalist. She lives in the Pacific NW on a small Oregon farm with her husband, two sons and their animals – a horse, several cats and guinea pigs, a herd of alpacas, and two dogs. Besides running children to and fro and caring for her gardens, critters and family, Danita stays busy working on newspaper and magazine assignments and her next book.

 

 

Picture 004Danita’s first novel, Mist, a supernatural thriller, is available at Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Mist-ebook/dp/B009PR439S/

At Barnes & Noble:

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/mist-danita-cahill/1113907745?ean=2940016092713

And at Smashwords

https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/285699

15 responses »

  1. Pingback: Art: Danita Cahill! | miracahills

  2. Thanks Paty!
    (Paty and I just got back from a three-day writing retreat at the Oregon Coast. It was great. Got a lot written on my current project – a short novel of love and magic called Daisies are True).

  3. Oh and in case anyone is wondering how Misty Simon and I met – several of us branched off from the RWA Chick Lit loop many years ago. It was November write-a-novel month, but the timing was off for the group of us, so we formed our own writing loop to cheer one another on and write our books in a different month. We’ve been cheering each other on ever since! It’s been a beautiful thing.

Leave a Reply

