Books: Alexa Bourne!

Standard

9cd72b66ef7b498031442bd2f57aa805[1]What genre do your books fall into or is it a genre blended?
I write mostly romantic suspense, but I also write contemporary.

What inspires you to write?

I’m not really sure. It’s something I’ve always done. I can’t remember a time I didn’t have some story percolating in my head.

Do you listen to music or set the mood somehow to get writing?
I listen to music most of the time while I write. When I’m on a roll, the music makes it better. I usually have a “soundtrack” list depending on the story I’m writing. For example, during my 1st ebook set in Scotland, I listened to a lot of bagpipe music. For my 3rd ebook set in Edinburgh for New Year’s, I listened to a lot of Christmas and New Year’s music.

Do you come up with the plot or characters first?
Most of the time I come up with characters first. I figure out their problems and the plot of the story when I write the rough draft.

Do you have a favorite book of yours?
It’s usually the one I’m working on. I think choosing a favorite book of my own would be like trying to choose a favorite child. I love each of my books for different reasons.

Who would you consider an influence on your writing?
Well, definitely one of my best friends. She’s been in my corner since I first talked about writing to get published. She’ll send me inspirational gadgets, she makes promotional materials for me, she reads every book and gives me her honest opinion, she cheers me on, tells me I’m brilliant when I’m miserable and I can’t imagine my life without her!

Tell me something quirky about yourself.
When I eat a meal, I eat one part at a time. So, if I have chicken, rice and vegetables, I’ll eat all the veggies before I start the rice. Then I’ll eat all the rice before I eat the chicken. Oh, and I usually save whatever I like the most until last.

What do you aim to make people feel when they read your books?
I want them to feel satisfied that they received a WHOLE story regardless of how long it is. I hope they fall in love with my characters. I’ve also been told I make people want to visit my settings based on my descriptions. So I guess I could be good for the tourism industry!

What’s next for you?
Lots! I’m working on edits for a contemporary short story romance set in the Highlands of Scotland. It’s connected to my first ebook, Her Highland Champion. I’m also putting the finishing touches on another short story I hope to submit to my publisher in the next 2 weeks. I’m ALSO working on a 2nd draft of a full-length suspense set in New England. AND I’m brainstorming my next Honor Guard novella.

Do you sing in the shower?
Sometimes!

Through the Eyes of Darkness PRINT

The link for the books: http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss_1?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=alexa+bourne

 

Bio:

Alexa Bourne is a teacher by day and a romantic suspense writer by nights, weekends, and all school holidays. She also teaches online classes for writers throughout the year. She is thrilled to be writing for Decadent Publishing and to have the chance to share her love of Great Britain with readers everywhere.

When she’s not concocting sinister plots and steamy love scenes or traveling and exploring new cultures, Alexa spends her time reading, watching brainless TV and thinking about exercising. She loves to interact with readers, so visit her web page, hang out at her blog, follow her on Twitter or drop her a note at Alexa@alexabourne.com!

 

Website: www.alexabourne.com

Blog: http://alexabourne.blogspot.com

Twitter: @AlexaBourne

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/AuthorAlexaBourne

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5818611.Alexa_Bourne

3 responses »

  1. Thanks, Vicky! And that’s good to know I’m not the only one who does that. All MY family members think I’m crazy to eat that way!

    But, Natalie, if I’m getting full I’ll switch over to the stuff I like most and make sure I eat that.

    Thanks for visiting, ladies!

Leave a Reply

