Books: Vicky Burkholder

Standard

I’m so excited dangeronxyone_msrto be here today to announce that my book “Danger on Xy-One” is finally coming out in print!!! It’s been available as an ebook, but now will be in print format as well. The publisher is Ellora’s Cave found in their “Blush” line (the non-erotic portion of the site). It is a futuristic romance full of danger, mystery, and, of course, romance. A story in the Hunters for Hire series.

Aleksia Matthews is an asteroid assayer who would like nothing better than to be left alone. Her life is soon turned upside down when a band of ruthless pirates attack her ship. Shemanages to escape, but fears the worst for her brother. Ali swears revenge. Although well-trained by Fleet Security, she knows she can’t do the job alone. When she literally runs into a stranger, Jason Cole she knows she has met the perfect partner — in more ways than one.

Special agent and Bounty Hunter, Jason has spent the past year tracking the pirates who killed his brother Zack and Zack’s family. He’s always one step behind, too late to help the victims. There are never any survivors — until now. It is up to him to keep Ali alive and out of trouble until the gang can be captured, and maybe longer.

What genre do your books fall into or is it a genre blended?
I write fantasy and futuristic romances, so everything from medieval to space ships.

What inspires you to write? Anything and everything. I’ve always written, but sometimes, just something I see or hear or read may spark an idea and I’m off and running.

Do you listen to music or set the mood somehow to get writing?
I listen to music all the time while I write. I can’t have total silence. Mostly it’s either New Age or environmental instrumental, but sometimes I have soft vocals – though I tend to sing along with them when I have them on.

Do you come up with the plot or characters first?
Actually, it’s pretty much both, but I’d say plot has a very slight edge. I’ll think of an idea for a story, then the characters to fit it.

Do you have a favorite book of yours?
Yes and no – I have a current favorite, but it’s the one I’m working on. But I love all my stories.

Who would you consider an influence on your writing?
My dad who got me into books and writing, and the old science fiction and fantasy classics. And my Bootsquad friends – my crit group – who are the most supportive people in the world. Don’t know what I’d do without them.

Tell me something quirky about yourself.
Hmmm – quirky? You mean something like… when I was in college, I was the first girl the radio station ever let have a show – after all, girls didn’t know enough to be DJs. I was only allowed to play “dinner” music (we still had sit down dinners at that time) and nothing even close to “rock”. Or do you mean something like… I live in a town known for its chocolate and I’m allergic to the stuff.

What do you aim to make people feel when they read your books?
I want them to love my characters as much as I do. To feel that they’ve read a good story and were entertained for however long it took them to read it. To want to come back and read more.

What’s next for you?
Lots! I’m working on another science fiction series, shorter this time, as well as a fantasy series and an urban fantasy, so I have a lot in the pipeline.

Do you sing in the shower?
Sometimes!

The link for the books: http://www.ellorascave.com/danger-on-xy-one.html

Bio:
Vicky Burkholder is an editor by day and a writer when she can fit it in her schedule. When she’s not thinking up her next world to build, she’s reading, sewing, watching TV or doing crossword puzzles – yes, in pen!
Website: www.burkholv.wordpress.com or www.victoriaAllenRomance.com

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

