Books: Margaret Fieland!

Standard

picture014What genre do your books fall into or is it a genre blended?
I write poetry and, right now, science fiction. My aliens have mind speech and a truth sense, but I’m firmly in the camp of science fiction and not paranormal.
What inspires you to write?

Anything. Everything. I’ve written poetry for many years, but only seriously since 2005. In 2006, I attended an online writers conference and joined an online writers forum. The leader required everyone to write fiction as well as poetry. I loved the forums, so I started writing fiction and got hooked.

 

Do you listen to music or set the mood somehow to get writing? 
Nope. I’m a serious amateur musician – I play the flute and the piccolo. I find music distracting – I listen rather than write. I do hum to myself sometimes, though.
Do you come up with the plot or characters first?
The characters, the setting, the problem. The plot follows from that.
Do you have a favorite book of yours?
The one that was just accepted for publication, Broken Bonds, is my current favorite.
Who would you consider an influence on your writing?
In the science fiction, Robert A. Heinlein and Ursula LeGuin top the list. One of the things I learned from Heinlein is to surprise my readers, and from LeGuin I took the notion that science fiction doesn’t have to be all about shiny machines and new technology. I’m far more interested in people and relationships than the technology, so that’s what I write about. There’s a strong political thread running through my books as well. My father was an attorney and interested in the law and how it worked.
Tell me something quirky about yourself.
I can’t think of anything. Doesn’t everyone have a stack of eight or ten books waiting to be read, run in from raking leaves to scribble down a poem, or forget to turn off the water when they figure out a sticky plot point?

No? I’m shocked.
What do you aim to make people feel when they read your books?
I want them to be jolted out of their comfort zone, to make them consider what they believe is right, and to really get that other people have different beliefs and are coming from a different starting point, and that’s okay.
What’s next for you?
Keep working on my current work-in-progress, another science fiction novel, and get ready to work with my editor on the one that was just accepted for publication.
Do you sing in the shower?
Oh, no, but I  do talk to myself.

 

Bio: Margaret Fieland is the author of “Relocated,” recently released by MuseItUp Publishing http://tinyurl.com/Muserelocated and of the companion book of poems , “Sand in the Desert,”   http://tinyurl.com/SandPoetry. She is one of six Poetic Museling. Their poetry anthology, “Lifelines,” was released by Inkspotter Publications last November http://tinyurl.com/LifelinesPoetry. You may visit her website, http://www.margaretfieland.com or http://poetic-muselings.net/ You can find her on Twitter as @madcapmaggie and on Facebook as madcapmaggie, and on Pinterest  http://pinterest.com/margaretfieland/

5 responses »

  1. Good post. And the author comes across as being very interesting and human; I never forget to turn the water off but I have almost set a microwave popcorn bag on fire. Fortunately I noticed the smoke drifting through the kitchen before the bag went WHOOSH! in the microwave.

Leave a Reply

