Books: Zrinka Jelic!

Standard

Copy of Bonded CoverWhat genre do your books fall into or is it a genre blended? My debut novel “Bonded by Crimson” is a paranormal romance and my second novel “Treasured Chest” is a historical/action – adventure romance. So my books are romances, but fall into different sub-genres.

What inspires you to write? Life, generally. Anything I see, people I come in contact or other books I read, movies, plays and such.

Do you listen to music or set the mood somehow to get writing? I’m trying. I have to un-plug from my world and plunge into my writing world. Usually I have music blaring through my headphones. Considering that my taste in music completely differs from my hubby’s, I have to block that racket he calls music or I won’t write a single word.

Do you come up with the plot or characters first? Plot I think. But I get the picture of the characters in my head. I can see how they act, talk, respond and interact with their surroundings.

Do you have a favorite book of yours? To narrow it down to just one would be impossible. I love many books for different reasons. To name a few “Chronicles of Narnia”, “Lord of the rings” trilogy, anything by Arturo Perez Reverte, and the list goes on.

Who would you consider an influence on your writing? Pretty much the authors of the books I listed above.

Tell me something quirky about yourself. Many have cats sitting on their laps or keyboard while writing, I have my 5 year old boy who comes around the very minute I sit down. And my 9 year old who somehow detects that mom is at her laptop and he must bug me with his requests, usually for food.

What do you aim to make people feel when they read your books? The world is full of injustice and we can’t escape that. No matter how tough we think we’re, the troubled times will seem easier and happiness will be increased when shared with someone who loves us. Open up your heart to love.

What’s next for you? My third completed novel titled “Love Remains” is in hands of editors, awaiting its fate.

Do you sing in the shower? Nope, I think of the next scene in my work in progress


Bonded by Crimson ~ A paranormal romance available in all formats at Black Opal Books, Amazon, Smashwords, Barnes & NobleKobobooks and All Romance eBooks

ZrinkaNewCoverTreasured Chest ~ A pirate’s romance now available at Black Opal Books Amazon Barnes & Noble AllRomance eBooks Smashwords and Kobobooks

Find me on: Facebook   Twitter
Visit my  
Blog   

AUTHOR’S BIO

Zrinka Jelic lives in Ontario, Canada, with her husband and two children. A member of the Romance Writers of America and its chapter Fantasy Futuristic &Paranormal, as well as Savvy Authors, she writes contemporary fiction—which leans toward the paranormal—and adds a pinch of history. Her characters come from all walks of life, and although she prefers red, romance comes in many colors. Given Jelic’s love for her native Croatia and the Adriatic Sea, her characters usually find themselves dealing with a fair amount of sunshine, but that’s about the only break they get. “Alas,” Jelic says, with a grin. “Some rain must fall in everyone’s life.”

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

