Standard

Mist people and dog, resizedThanks so much for having me here today, Misty!

What inspired you to write your first novel?

I had a nightmare about feral, red-eyed dogs chasing me along a fog-shrouded coastline (I grew up on the Oregon coast). About the same time, I gave birth to my second child. Six months later, my mom passed away. Those three life events swirled together were the catalyst for Mist.

Did you always know your genre would be romance?

I was a member of Romance Writers of America for years and attended various regional and national conferences. I also belonged to a local RWA chapter and an online RWA chapter. So, it was pretty much pre-ordained that romance would make its way into my stories!

What sort of stories do you like to read?

I like to read stories involving relationships – the same kind of stories I like to write. The relationships might be between a man and woman, between a mother and child, or between a grandmother and granddaughter (Mist has all three). I like reading and writing about how people interact with one another.

Has any part of yourself crept into the heroines of any of your romances?

A part of me creeps into every character I write. In the case of Mist, the heroine is loosely based on my mom, although Dianne Harris is a younger, hipper version.

What is the most desirable characteristic you’ve bestowed on the hero of your latest romance?

Kevin McCoffey – the hero of Mist – is tall, muscular and has a sexy southern accent. Definitely all nice qualities, but I think his most attractive characteristic is his desire to take care of others and keep them safe. Because of what happened to his dad when Kevin was a boy, Kevin now has a driving need to be a hero.

Do you think you’ll always write in the same genre and style or do you have desires to experiment and if so, in what way?

Whenever I write fiction, there will be some sort of love story involved. My current WIP (Work In Progress) called Daisies are True is a story of love and magic.

By day I am a freelance writer, reporter and photographer. As such, I also have non-fiction stories to tell, too. I’m also working on some non-fiction, memoir projects – Confessions of a Country Girl – Inspiring Stories of Growing Up Rural, and Kids are a Crack Up – a Slim Volume of Humorous Stories.

Bio:

Danita Cahill is an award-winning freelance writer and photographer. At age 14 she sold her flute and bought a word processer to pursue her dream of becoming a writer. Danita lives in the Pacific NW on a small Oregon farm with her husband, two sons and their animals – a horse, several cats, a couple guinea pigs, a herd of alpacas, and two dogs. Danita stays busy working on newspaper and magazine assignments and her next books.

Blurb:

Go about your lives as usual. Use common sense. Be aware of your surroundings.

Easy for the Roseland Police Chief to say. Not so easy for the community to do. Not when residents of their Oregon coastal town keep vanishing. Who – or what – is snatching citizens? Is it aliens? A serial killer? Or a feral pack of red-eyed dogs? Detective Kevin McCoffey is determined to solve the case.

Young, widowed photographer, Dianne Harris and her infant daughter find themselves face to face with the killers. Kevin races to yank them to safety. But is he too late to save them both?

With help from the ghost of Dianne’s dead grandmother and the town’s fortuneteller, Kevin and Dianne battle their own demons and their shared romantic history as they rush to pry Dianne’s baby from the killer’s grip.

Buy-it links:

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Mist-ebook/dp/B009PR439S/

Barnes & Noble:

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/mist-danita-cahill/1113907745?ean=2940016092713

Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/285699

Website link

http://cahillphotojournalism.com/

Miracahills (Miracles blog)

http://miracahills.wordpress.com/

8 responses »

  1. Great interview! I like the blurb! So many questions and intriguing. The book is a must read for anyone who likes things that go bump in the night or reunion romances. Love the new cover. 😉

  2. A comment from Chris C. on my Facebook timeline: “I Love the new cover Danita! It’s nice to see right off that it’s a story about people & not just the red eyed dogs!”

Leave a Reply

