Books: Paty Jager!

Standard

MAYAN MOON 1 (733x1100)Misty, Thank you for having me on your blog today!

What genre do your books fall into or is it a genre blended?

My books fall into many genres and subgenres: historical western romance, contemporary western romance, historical paranormal romance, action adventure romance and soon mystery.

What inspires you to write?

Everything! It can be something I hear on the radio as was the case for a contemporary western, Perfectly Good Nanny, or find something interesting while researching for one book that brings up an idea for another book.  A line in a song can conjure up a premise for a book.  A request from an editor is what made me come up with the Spirit trilogy about Nez Perce Indian spirits. They were looking for historical paranormal books. Or the case of me complaining a book didn’t fit the genre it was under and a writer friend challenged me to write what I thought the book should be and that was the beginning of the Isabella Mumphrey Action adventure series.

Do you listen to music or set the mood somehow to get writing?

Yes. I’m just like Pavlov’s dogs.  If I listen to the same music every time I sit down to write a specific book, I can get back into the story quicker. I use certain music for each genre I write and each book. I listened to Native American music while writing the spirit trilogy, Mayan while writing Secrets of a Mayan Moon and Aztec and Mexican while writing Secrets of an Aztec Temple.

Do you come up with the plot or characters first?

Each book is different. Sometimes it’s the plot sometime sit’s the characters. In the case of the Isabella books it was the character. With the spirit trilogy it was the plot also with Perfectly Good Nanny. The Halsey brother books came from the characters and the titles.

Do you have a favorite book of yours?

Hard questions to answer. Each book is a favorite for different reasons. If I’m not passionate about a character or a premise for a book, I can’t write it. So, each book is my favorite as I am writing it.

PJ Promo shotWho would you consider an influence on your writing?

Many people. The mystery writers whose books I read one right after the other. Nora Roberts and LaVyrle Spencer who made me love romance books. The NY editor who introduced me to RWA(Romance Writers of America).  Author Nicole McCaffery who saw the potential in my writing and helped me hone my craft.  My critique partners who help me make every story the best I can. My family who has been behind me 100% since I decided to become a published author.

Tell me something quirky about yourself.

Quirky…I’m an introvert and have a hard time talking to people in a group setting, yet I enjoy getting up in front of a group to teach them how to be better writers.

What do you aim to make people feel when they read your books?

I want them to be entertained and if they learn something whether historical, cultural, or geographical along the way all the better.

What’s next for you?

I’m currently working on the first book of what I hope will be a long running mystery series. The protagonist is a woman potter who grew up away from her Native American roots. She’s a potter and after her Nez Perce grandmother dies, is visited in her dreams by her grandmother who helps her solve the mysteries.

Do you sing in the shower?
Nope. As a kid my brothers (both musically inclined) told me to never sing. And so, I only sing quietly with the radio up loud.

The first book of Isabella Mumphrey adventures, Secrets of a Mayan Moon is available for $.99 from May 1-12th as part of an Anniversary Special.

Blurb: What happens when a brilliant anthropologist is lured to the jungle to be used as a human sacrifice?

Child prodigy and now Doctor of Anthropology, Isabella Mumphrey, is about to lose her job at the university. In the world of publish or perish, her mentor’s request for her assistance on a dig is just the opportunity she’s been seeking. If she can decipher an ancient stone table—and she can—she’ll keep her department. She heads to Guatemala, but drug trafficking bad guys, artifact thieves, and her infatuation for her handsome guide wreak havoc on her scholarly intentions.

DEA agent Tino Kosta, is out to avenge the deaths of his family. He’s deep undercover as a jaguar tracker and sometimes jungle guide, but the appearance of a beautiful, brainy anthropologist heats his Latin blood taking him on a dangerous detour that could leave them both casualties of the jungle.

Secrets of a Mayan Moon is available at Windtree Press, Kindle, Nook  Kobo .

Bio:

Award winning author Paty Jager is a member of national and local writing organizations. She not only writes the western lifestyle, she lives it. With sixteen novels and several short stories published, she continues to have characters cavorting in her head. 

You can learn more about Paty at her blog; www.patyjager.blogspot.com  her website; http://www.patyjager.net or on Facebook; https://www.facebook.com/#!/paty.jager , Goodreads http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/1005334.Paty_Jager  and twitter;  @patyjag.

18 responses »

  1. Great post, Paty! So-o-o you don’t sing in the shower. Me either. It’s always interesting hearing where writers get their ideas for stories. It’s never the same place for me either. I’ve saved quite a few newspaper clippings of interesting story that would make great story lines for a book. Good luck on sales!!

  2. Of course, you already know how much I love your Isabella Mumphrey books. Your new mystery series sounds really interesting too. I loved your Spirit books about the Nez Pearce, so I’m looking forward to this new series.

  3. Fun interview, Paty. I’d like to know what you heard on the radio that gave you the idea for Perfectly Good Nanny. Do tell!

    I hope lots of readers pick up Secrets of a Mayan Moon. Excellent book! I love the characters – good guys and bad.

    • Hi Danita! I was listening to a radio talk show while driving home from a meeting one night and heard that a child had used their parents’ credit card to order items online and the parents didn’t know until the items arrived. So I thought what would happen if a lonely preteen who was tired of taking care of her toddler brother ordered a nanny online and the father didn’t know until the woman arrived at their remote ranch.

  4. Many times I go through my CD’s looking for just the right music to get me in the mood to write a particular scene or a particular character. It really helps inspire me. I don’t sing in the shower though.
    Many of us are introverts. We have that crazy stuff going on in our heads I guess.
    I wish you great success with Mayan Moon, Paty.

Leave a Reply

