Books: Reese Ryan!

Standard

ReeseRyanWhat genre do your books fall into or is it a genre blended?

Making the First Move is a contemporary romance, but because the heroine’s journey is an integral part of the story I’d also consider it romantic women’s fiction.

What inspires you to write?

Jane Austen’s Pride & Prejudice first made me want to become a storyteller by trade. I’m fascinated by human nature. A similar situation happens to three different women, yet they respond in three very dissimilar ways. I love reading and writing stories that allow me to get inside the character’s head and walk in their shoes for a little bit.

Do you listen to music or set the mood somehow to get writing?

I love the arts and music is a close second to reading and writing for me. Right now I’m listening to Yo-Yo Ma and Ryuichi Sakamoto. Later I’ll be listening rock, or R&B, or hip-hop. I have very eclectic tastes in music and what I’m listening to is determined either by my mood or the mood I’m trying to set in the scene I’m writing.

Do you come up with the plot or characters first?

A situation typically comes to mind. I visualize the character who would be in that situation. Then I develop the storyline from there.

MakingTheFirstMoveFinalCover-403x645Do you have a favorite book of yours?

I’m a new author, so right now my current project is my favorite one. I love Making the First Move, Melanie and Raine’s story. She’s a smart, strong heroine and he’s deliciously swoon-worthy, yet he has a dark past. There are lots of funny and emotional moments. Then there’s is the crazy dynamics of the Gordon Family.  So that was fun. But I’ve just finished a related story called Love Me Not. It features Jamie Charles—the best friend character in Making the First Move. It’s a harder, edgier story. So I’m in love with that story and those characters right now.

Who would you consider an influence on your writing?

I’ve got a thing for authors named Jane. I love Jane Austen’s witty heroines who defy convention and the crazy family dynamics in her stories. Both have become staples in my stories. I adore the self-deprecating humor of Jane Green’s heroines who are always less than perfect and a bit quirky. Those are typically traits you’ll find in my characters, as well.

Tell me something quirky about yourself.

I’ve attended lots of concerts over the years. I have this thing where—once I get my concert tickets—I stop listening to that artist’s music until after the concert. Live performances often sound quite different from the recorded tracks—better if you’re lucky. Not listening to the recorded tracks for a while is like cleansing my palate so I’m ready to enjoy the live performance for what it is, without pre-conceived expectations.

What do you aim to make people feel when they read your books?

After reading Pride & Prejudice, what made me to want to be a writer was the feeling I left that story with. I’d connected with the characters. Laughed with them. Cried with them. I felt their pain and their happiness. That’s the kind of stories I want to tell. Every day I work toward that end.

What’s next for you?

A related story, Love Me Not, will be released by Carina Press on December 30th. When things settle down I’ll be proposing another related story to my editor at Carina Press. I have two other finished manuscripts which I’ll be editing—one is a contemporary romance and the other is a romantic thriller. Then, I have a few partial manuscripts that have been patiently waiting for me to get back to them.

Do you sing in the shower?

Rarely. But I sing just about everywhere else—much to the chagrin of my son who often says, “You know we can hear you, right?” Yep. And I don’t much care. 😉

 http://www.reeseryan.com/author-events/making-the-first-move-blog-tour-july-22-august-4-2013/

 

Bio:

Reese Ryan writes sexy, contemporary fiction filled with colorful characters and sinfully-sweet romance. She secretly enjoys torturing her heroines with family and career drama, reformed bad boys, revealed secrets, and the occasional identity crisis, but always rewards them with a happily ever after.

Visit Reese online at ReeseRyan.com. Follow her on Twitter @ReeseRyanWrites. Connect with her on Facebook.

Author Links:                                                   

Website:  ReeseRyan.com
Twitter: 
@ReeseRyanWrites
Facebook: 
ReeseRyanWrites
Goodreads: 
Reese Ryan
Amazon Author Page: 
http://www.amazon.com/Reese-Ryan/e/B00CD31WJ0

Making the First Move Blog Tour Grand Prize

  • $25 Amazon or Barnes & Noble Gift Card
  • Digital copy of Making the First Move by Reese Ryan
  • Digital copy of The Winning Season by Alison Packard
  • Digital copy of Knowing the Score by Kat Latham
  • Digital copy of Personal Assets by Kelsey Browning
  • Digital copy of Derby Girl by Tamara Morgan

 

Buy Links:

Amazon Buy Link:  http://www.amazon.com/Making-the-First-Move-ebook/dp/B00CC68FMU/

Barnes & Noble Buy Link:  http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/making-the-first-move-reese-ryan/1115148406

iTunes Buy Link:  https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/making-the-first-move/id653078144?mt=11

 

Add to Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17800669-making-the-first-move

 

Making the First Move Summary           

Melanie Gordon has spent the past five years obsessing over her career to dull the pain of a devastating breakup and the loss of her father. Her effort pays off when she receives the promotion that could be her big break. Only it means returning to her hometown to face her past while leaving behind the man who could be her future.

Selfless (and insanely sexy) philanthropist, Raine Mason, is committed to his cause. But his passion for rescuing high-risk young males from the road to disaster is fueled by his own dark and tragic past.

When Raine is ready to take his casual friendship with Melanie to sizzling new heights, her one-way ticket to Cleveland is already booked. But a steamy night of passion leaves them both wanting more, even if Melanie is afraid to admit it. She reluctantly agrees to a long-distance relationship with no promises and no commitments.

Melanie may finally be ready to give Raine her heart…but then she discovers startling news that causes her to question everything she knows about him. Worse, he’s harboring a dark secret from his past that threatens to shatter any hope of a future for them unless he can convince her that their love is worth the risk.

 

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Books: Reese Ryan! | Eclectic Books

Leave a Reply

