Books: Lexi Post!

Standard

Lexi Post photo small

Welcome, Lexi! Hey readers, Lexi is going to give away a free ecopy of Masque to one lucky commenter. Show her some love!

What genre do your books fall into or is it a genre blended?

My books are erotic romances and they have all fallen into the Twilight Line at Ellora’s Cave because they have paranormal elements. Each one is a different paranormal. In Masque I had 73 ghosts. In Passion’s Poison I have a poisonous woman who needs sex to expel her poisons or she will die. In Passion of Sleepy Hollow I have a time glitch.

What inspires you to write?

Classic literature. Yup. I write erotic romances inspired by the classics.  In the case of my most recent release Passion’s Poison, I was inspired by Nathaniel Hawthorne’s “Rappaccini’s Daughter.” Hawthorne is the one who created a poisonous heroine, I just gave her descendent a way to stay alive, which is more than Hawthorne did :-} I don’t rewrite these wonderful stories because, well, they are classics and they are great the way they are. Instead, I create something new with many elements from the original story, but a reader doesn’t have to read the original to enjoy my books. If she does, she’ll simply find another layer to the happily ever after.

Do you listen to music or set the mood somehow to get writing?
I like silence when I’m writing. However, I do live on the beach, so I never have it completely quiet as the waves are a regular backdrop. But for me, it has to be dark when I write. I’m a night-writer. I can envision my scenes while lying in the sun, but the actual writing has to be at night.

Do you come up with the plot or characters first?

Oh, definitely characters! I’m a pantser. I get to know my characters and their goals, backgrounds, motivations and how they will conflict with each other. Then I figure out what the black moment will be. After that, I just start writing and see where the characters take me. They are great. I usually end up with a pretty decent plot and some kind of theme running through the story.

masque_msr finalDo you have a favorite book of yours?
Hmm, that is tough. I think most writers fall in love with their current book. I’m really enjoying my Headless Horseman hero and the spunky Katrina Van Tassel. But Synn was so considerate of Rena’s explorations into new sexual experiences in Masque and Zach is such a hunk of a good guy for Bea in Passion’s Poison, that it would be really difficult to pick a favorite. Maybe once I have 20 books out, one will start to inch toward the top for me.

Who would you consider an influence on your writing?

Jennifer Ashley/Allyson James has definitely influenced my growth as a writer. Every one of her books (and I have read every single one of her romances) I thoroughly enjoy and afterwards gain insight into what she did to make them so amazing. I try to emulate some of her techniques. I have also benefited from her advice on the professional side of the industry as well as from her amazing work ethic. She is definitely my role model.

Tell me something quirky about yourself.

I guess the fact that I always wear a hat would be considered a bit different. It has become my signature. I don’t wear jewelry, so hats are my accessory. I have over 80. I’ve always felt that if a person looks good in a hat then he or she has an obligation to wear it.

What do you aim to make people feel when they read your books?

I want people to get excited by the erotic nature of my books. I also want them to feel the love that the couple has together and to leave the book believing that good can triumph over evil and love can last forever. I want people to be satisfied when they are through, and as one of my readers put it, be left with “a book hangover.”

What’s next for you?

I’m currently working on Passion of Sleepy Hollow. I imagine everyone can guess which classic story inspired that one. That is due out in early 2014. Then my editor has challenged me to write a short book as mine tend toward the 200 page length. I decided I better choose a poem for inspiration if I’m going to write shorter. Right now I’m thinking about Emily Dickinson’s “Wild nights – Wild nights!” It has some real possibilities.

Do you sing in the shower?

Nope. I usually figure out solutions to problems in my books while in the shower. I’ve been known to take one for just that reason!

passionspoison_msrPassion’s Poison is available in electronic formats:

Amazon

Barnes and Noble

Ellora’s Cave

 

Bio

Lexi Post spent years in higher education taking and teaching courses about classical literature. From the early American short story, Edgar Allan Poe’s “The Masque of the Red Death” to the 20th century American epic The Grapes of Wrath, from War and Peace to the Bhagavad Gita, she’s read, studied, and taught great classic literature.

But Lexi’s first love is romance novels. In an effort to marry her two first loves, she started writing erotic romance inspired by the classics and found she loved it.  Lexi feels there is no end to the romantic inspiration she can find in great classic literature.

Lexi lives with her husband and cat in the Caribbean where gorgeous sunsets, warm weather, and driving on the left are the norm. She makes her own ice cream every weekend, loves bright colors, and you will never see her without a hat (unless she is going incognito).

 

For more information about Lexi Post:

websitehttp://www.lexipostbooks.com/

Bloghttp://www.happilyeverafterthoughts.com/

twitter:   https://twitter.com/LexiPost

Facebook:   http://www.facebook.com/lexipostbooks

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6915542.Lexi_Post

13 responses »

  1. I adore paranormals and yours sound wonderful! Congratulations. And fedora’s? Love them! I wish I could wear more hats, but, unfortunately, the model they use for most hats must have a larger head than mine ’cause they never fit! LOL

    • Thank you, Vicky. I understand the hat thing. Some come in one size, but if you are willing to spend a tad more, you can actually get sizes. Lucky for me, most hats of one size fits all do fit me 🙂

    • I will probably use the Dickinson poem for my short erotic. Then I’m brainstorming a Christmas trilogy. One person suggested The Three Musketeers and I’m seriously thinking a series may be in order with that one 🙂

    • Hi Susan, the ocean sounds are wonderful . . . as long as there are no storms brewing. Then they can be a bit scary. I’m so glad you like The Legend of Sleepy Hollow. There is so much understatement in that story. I really enjoyed reading it again and finding those threads to use in my book 🙂

  2. From Ava Quinn who is having trouble posting 🙂
    Hi Lexi! That is my absolute favorite Emily Dickinson poem!

    And wow, 80 hats! Where do you keep them all? I love hats, but never think they look good on me. So I guess the opposite is true. If you don’t look good in hats you should never wear one.

    And your books sound very interesting. 🙂

    • Hi Ava, How exciting to hear that someone else likes that poem too! I’m thinking maybe a couple men for my heroine. After all, it is Wild Nights! Wild Nights! I have a lot of shelf space dedicated to hats and many fit inside each other 🙂 I do admit that baseball caps look terrible on me, so I don’t wear them. Have you tried one of those. Bet they would look smashing on you!

  3. Hi Lexi, You are a new to me to author. I’m very excited to have a new author!!! I could sit and listen to the ocean forever. We vacation every year in Florida, two weeks inland and 1 week at Casey Key on the gulf side. I can sit in a chair and just watch and listen, it’s so calming. How great is it to write to the sound the ocean. Do you ever want to write about mermaids after listening to the ocean?

    • Hi Julianne, I can tell you get the sound completely. I haven’t thought of mermaids mainly because I’m a diver so the real fish are so fascinating to me. But I am hoping to set one of my stories on a Caribbean island since I wouldn’t have to do much research 😉

Leave a Reply

