Books: Diane Burton!

Standard

Diane BurtonWhat genre do your books fall into or is it a genre blended?

Most of my books are science fiction romance. My newest book ONE RED SHOE is romantic suspense. Actually, all my books are romantic suspense. The SFR books happen to take place on starships or on alien planets.

What inspires you to write?

My Muse. LOL However, I think she took a trip to the Bahamas or Timbuktu because she hasn’t been around much lately. To tell you the truth, I think she took one look at all the boxes from our recent move and bailed.

Do you listen to music or set the mood somehow to get writing?

Usually not. I’m very comfortable with silence. If I do listen to music, it can’t have lyrics. Too distracting.

Do you come up with the plot or characters first?

Depends. Usually, a rough plot comes first. With the book I’m writing now, it started with the characters.

Do you have a favorite book of yours?

That’s like asking me which of my children is my favorite. My son says his sister is. And she thinks he is. They’re both right. LOL My new romantic suspense ONE RED SHOE started many years ago and went through so many revisions I’ve become very attached to it. I’m so glad it found a home with The Wild Rose Press.

Who would you consider an influence on your writing?

Jayne Ann Krentz because of her deft handling of suspense and character development. Writing as Jayne Castle, her science fiction romances are top notch. Victoria Holt, Phyllis Whitney, and Daphne duMaurier showed me how to keep the reader guessing about the villain.

Tell me something quirky about yourself.

I love Pixar movies—Toy Story, Cars, Brave. I like to say I’m buying them for my grandchildren, but I watch them even when the kiddies aren’t around.

What do you aim to make people feel when they read your books?

That they are part of an adventure.

What’s next for you?

I’m writing the second book in the Outer Rim series, which is about strong women on the frontier of space. The Chameleon features a character who is not what she seems.

Do you sing in the shower?

Nope. I sing in the car.

 

Bio:

Diane Burton combines her love of mystery, adventure, science fiction and romance into writing science fiction romance. Besides the Switched series, she is the author of The Pilot, a series about strong women on the frontier of space. One Red Shoe is her first romantic suspense. She is also a contributor to the anthology How I Met My Husband. Diane and her husband live in Michigan. They have two children and two grandchildren.

For excerpts from Diane Burton’s books, go to http://dianeburton.blogspot.com/p/excerpts.html

Website: www.dianeburton.com

Blog: http://dianeburton.blogspot.com/

Twitter:  http://twitter.com/dmburton72

Facebook:  http://facebook.com/dianeburtonauthor

Goodreads: Diane Burton Author

Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/dmburton72/

Amazon author page: http://amzn.com/e/B00683MH5E

7 responses »

    • I loved Wall-E, but I think my favorite right now is Brave. They really captured the problems with mothers & teen daughters. Although it’s not a Pixar film my long-time fav is Mulan. I like that she’s not wasp-waist thin and a strong heroine.

Leave a Reply

