Books: Anson Barber!

Standard

AnsonPicWhat genre do your books fall into or is it a genre blended?  I like to mix it up.  I have a bit of everything.  Paranormal, mystery, suspense, contemporary, sci-fi.  I have one historical and even a children’s book I wrote for my niece. 

What inspires you to write?  Anything can spark an idea.  While having lunch with a friend, we started discussing reproductive issues and before too long I had an idea for a book. 

Do you listen to music or set the mood somehow to get writing?  I don’t listen to music when I write, I find it distracting, but it does set the mood and give me ideas.  Right now I’m working on a book that was inspired by a Rob Zombie song.

Do you come up with the plot or characters first?  Definitely the characters, they move into my head and tell me what they’re feeling, thinking and doing.  They build the plot for me.

Do you have a favorite book of yours?  I like The Mistake, mainly because the characters came to me so strongly.  It was an easy book to write.

Who would you consider an influence on your writing?  My sister.  She was the first person who read anything I wrote.  If it wouldn’t have been for her encouragement, that might have been it for me.  Being my sister, she’s not afraid to tell me the honest, brutal truth, which is why I still take things to her for her opinion.  

Tell me something quirky about yourself.  Just one thing??  Well, people are usually blown away by the fact I don’t like potatoes.  Apparently, that is odd.

What do you aim to make people feel when they read your books?  I want to say I hope to make them laugh, but when someone tells me one of my books made them cry, I do get a strange pleasure in that, too.  I guess I want people to identify with the characters so strongly they feel whatever the characters are feeling. 

SparkFinalWhat’s next for you? I just signed a contract for the second book in the Racing Hearts Series. 

Do you sing in the shower?  Of course.  Isn’t that why showers were invented?

 

Author website:  www.ansonbarber.wordpress.com

Author Facebook: Anson Barber

Author Twitter: Anson Barber

Bio:

Anson Barber grew up in the Blue Ridge Mountains of Southern Pennsylvania and now lives near Hershey, Pennsylvania with her husband. She enjoys going on long motorcycle adventures, and recording the experiences in scrapbooks.

 

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Spark-Doubt-Racing-Hearts-ebook/dp/B00FVIF5U6/ref=sr_1_7?ie=UTF8&qid=1381782202&sr=8-7&keywords=spark+of+doubt

Barnes & Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/spark-of-doubt-anson-barber/1117075115?ean=9781622100347

Liquid Silver Books: http://www.lsbooks.com/spark-of-doubt-p835.php

Kobo: http://store.kobobooks.com/en-US/ebook/spark-of-doubt

5 responses »

  1. Congratulations on the new contract. An entertaining post and I so undetrstand about characters driving the story. Mine sometimes refuse to do what I want, do yours ever do that?

Leave a Reply

