Books: Katherine Grey!

Standard

An Unexpected GiftWriting and the Holiday Season

 

The holidays are officially over so my post may seem like it’s a bit late, but I wanted to share what I learned about trying to maintain a regular writing schedule from the week of Thanksgiving through New Year’s Day.

 

Knowing that a lot of my normal “free time” after I arrive home from the day job would be eaten up shopping for gifts, wrapping said gifts, baking, entertaining out of town relatives, and attending at least the necessary holiday gatherings (i.e. the office party which while not mandatory, seems so), I lowered my normal weekly page goal of new material to half the normal amount. I also tried to fit in at least a modicum of promotion.

 

Well, you know what they say about good intentions. My writing schedule dwindled down to all but non-existent. At first I felt like I was dropping the ball, but on the advice of friend I started keeping a list of all the things (writing related or not) I did manage to accomplish each week. Looking at that list at the end of the week and seeing all of the things I did do kept me from feeling like a failure.

 

Did I meet those updated writing goals I made the week of Thanksgiving? Nope, not even close. But I did learn something which is just as important. I learned with all of the added responsibilities the holidays bring, for me, writing needs to take a back seat. So as I sit down this weekend and write out my 2014 writing goals, I’m building in a “no writing” cushion from Thanksgiving until the first full week of January. If I have the time, I’ll definitely sit down and write, but without having the pressure of those daily page goals, I think I’ll enjoy the holiday season so much more.

 

Blurb:

Known only as Lazarus to the band of cutthroats and thieves he leads, William Prescott will do anything to find his missing sister, even blackmail a fragile young woman into helping him. But he never plans to fall in love with this mysterious woman with a troubled past.

Haunted by the memories of war, Olivia St. Germaine wants nothing more than to live a normal life. But when her brother, a doctor, suddenly leaves town without a word, she is forced to use her medical knowledge to help an injured man who puts her life in danger. Can she keep herself safe as she tends Lazarus, or is her heart more vulnerable than she realizes?

 

Buy Links:

 

The Wild Rose Press: http://www.thewildrosepress.com/index.php?main_page=index&manufacturers_id=905&zenid=19ddc2a69255daafde7f9df62f69e86e

 

Amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/An-Unexpected-Gift-ebook/dp/B009Y8APVI/ref=tmm_kin_title_0?ie=UTF8&qid=1362610861&sr=1-1

 

Barnes & Noble:

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/an-unexpected-gift-katherine-grey/1114371314?ean=2940016394534

 

 

Author Bio:

 

At the age of four, Katherine pestered her mother to teach her to read. From that point on, she spent the most of her childhood lost in the pages of one book after another. Soon she began writing stories of her own, populated with characters doing all of the things she was too shy to even contemplate doing herself.

A chance meeting with another author led Katherine to seriously pursue a writing career. Her debut novel, Impetuous, was released by The Wild Rose Press in August 2011.

Katherine lives in upstate NY with her family though she threatens to move south at the beginning of each winter season.

You can contact Katherine at:

Email: Katherineg425@yahoo.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Katherine-Grey/265375626827267?sk=wall

Twitter: @AuthorKayGrey

Blog: http://katherinegrey.blogspot.com

10 responses »

  1. Hi, Katherine!

    It’s definitely a good lesson to learn, to build that cushion in when you know writing will be difficult. December is always a wash for me. The advice holds true for vacations and big life events like family weddings or personal surgery and stuff like that, as well.

    Love your bio! 🙂

    • Hi Natalie,
      I learned the lesson about writing and surgery a few years ago. I had knee surgery and thought well there’s no reason I can’t still write. Let me just say pain killers and plotting don’t go well together. LOL

  2. Katherine, I had a goal of finishing the rough draft of my holiday story by the end of December. I thought it’d be easier surrounded by Christmas music, the trees, and all the rest. Wrong! Now it’s time to instill discipline again, and I’m oh, so slow to reestablishing my goals. First came cleaning, now it’s COLD outside…maybe I’ll get back to my chair in a couple of days…

    • Hi Ashantay,
      It does make sense that being surrounded by the Christmas music, tree, and just the season in general, that it’d be easier to write a story set at that time of the year. If I ever decide to write a Christmas themed story, now I’ll know better.

      I completely understand about being slow getting back into the groove. I had a few days off from the day job last week for the New Year holiday and found it hard to get back to the writing part of my day. Now that I’m back at work (darn!), I’m determined to get back into my regular writing routine.

  3. I had a new release in early January so I had to get my butt in the chair for that…couple that with the holidays and you bet, it threw some of my other writing off. Oh well. I hope to catch up soon. Thanks for the timely article, Katherine!

    • Hi Juli,

      As bad as it may make me look, I’m glad I’m not alone in struggling to get any writing done during the holidays. I’d hate to think it was just me and that maybe I wasn’t handling my time as well as I thought I was. Thanks for stopping by.

  4. Having just gone through cataract surgery on both eyes, I know how that can interrupt writing. But I was so into the book I was editing that I squinted through the filmy curtain the first day, worked a lot with one eye closed and didn’t miss a day.
    But, let me say, I so admire those who have jobs and children and still write. I have neither, just an aging husband who needs attention, so I can steal more hours to write. To me it’s how invested I am with my characters and their story so that even editing calls me to the computer even when I don’t feel up to par. Thanks for a good post on making lists. That works well for me, too.

    • Hi Velda,
      I have to say you are amazing. I can’t imagine doing any type of editing or writing after just having cataract surgery. I had a hard time doing any writing after having knee surgery. Well, I should rephrase that. I did write, but I was so hopped up on pain medication that when I was feeling better and read what I had written during that time…well, let’s just say it needed a lot of editing. :0

      As for being one of those people who work outside the home, I have to admit it takes a lot of list making and discipline to get a least some writing done along with everything family related on a regular basis.

  5. Thank you, Misty, for having me as your guest. It was interesting to learn that I wasn’t the only one who had difficulty writing during the holidays. My hat is off to everyone who managed to do so and especially to Velda for writing after just having cataract surgery.

Leave a Reply

