Books: K.T. Black!

Standard

HRwickedmagicWhat genre do your books fall into or is it a genre blended?

I only have one book published so far, but the way I write is more genre blended. Wicked Magic is a contemporary lesbian adult fairy tale with paranormal and fantasy elements, and a touch of mystery. Personally, I like stories that have a little mix of everything—to read or write. One thing that is usually predominant in my work is the paranormal element.

What inspires you to write?

All kinds of things. Dreams, people I’ve met, places I’ve traveled to, or just from out of the blue. My imagination is always turned on. When I’m not writing, I’m thinking about what I could be writing. I love it. It’s the one thing that’s always made me happy.

Do you listen to music or set the mood somehow to get writing?

Yes. I always listen to music when I write. Two reasons. I’m a little bit ADD, so it helps me to keep focused. It also allows me to go deep inside myself, and fall into that perfect zone where the real world slips away. When I enter this state of Zen where my writing is almost effortless, not perfect, but a place where I can let go and get out of my head, I see the fantasy world of my story and the characters that inhabit it. Like I’m watching a movie, and all I have to do is write down what I hear and see.
Do you come up with the plot or characters first?

I think most of the time I come up with the story idea first, but I tend to have an idea of how I want my protagonist to be in that same moment. The more I consider the idea, the clearer the main character becomes. I know it may sound crazy, but when the story really clicks, my characters become real and talk to me. Sometimes it takes a chapter or two before that happens, but when it finally does, it makes writing their dialogue, etc., so much easier.

Do you have a favorite book of yours?

Each one of my stories has elements that I enjoy, but to pick just one, I don’t really think I could do that. They’re all special to me.

Who would you consider an influence on your writing?

I think I’m more influenced by a story than by anyone. Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier & Green Darkness by Anya Seton, have definitely influenced me as a writer. More times than not, I tend to write on the darker, more moody side, and sprinkle paranormal elements in just to add some flavor. The Twilight Zone and The Outer Limits were favorite shows of mine growing up. I loved how they took an average looking story and threw in a supernatural twist. I like to do the same thing with the majority of my stories. But I don’t always go dark. Humor often finds its way into my stories. I have a crazy, funny dear friend whose personality often finds its way into one of my secondary characters. In Wicked Magic, it would be Chandler’s best friend Kara.
Tell me something quirky about yourself.

I do seem to draw unique and unusual people to me when I’m out and about, or on vacation. Maybe they sense that different doesn’t bother me, or perhaps, they just see a kindred spirit. Normal, in my opinion, is boring.

What do you aim to make people feel when they read your books?

I hope that as they read my stories, they are able to relate enough to the character(s), and find themselves becoming a part of the story on some level. Either connecting with them emotionally or viewing the story through their eyes. I don’t try to write a particular way, just for a reaction. It’s like with humor. If you try to be funny, you usually aren’t. It has to come naturally.

So I guess basically, my goal is to entertain the reader, and maybe teach them something, even if it was only to get them to look at the world from a different point of view. I enjoy traveling, when I get the chance, and I tend to come across some very remarkable people. Where it fits, I try to relay something about them in my stories, whether it is an event or just their personality.

What’s next for you?
Currently I am working on two different projects as K.T. Black. I’m nearly at the halfway point on Book 2 of my Spellbound series. It’s called Strange Magic—a variation on Alice in Wonderland. At this point in time, I see at least one or two more books past that. Different fairy tales with a modern spin, but all the books will be linked together. The second book will elaborate further on just what direction I’m planning on taking the series, and will be more complex than the first one. All the books will be contemporary full of witches, magic and some shape shifters.

The other one is called The Assistant. It’s a short M/F contemporary romance novella with some paranormal elements. (I recently found out this one has been accepted to be published).
Do you sing in the shower?

I have on occasion, but usually only when I’m in a really good mood.

Social Media:

Blog: www.ktblackbooks.com

Facebook: www.facebook.com/KTBlack26
Twitter: www.twitter.com/KTBlack_author

TSU: www.tsu.co/KTBlackAuthor

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCSZp4yv7-FtLRHVfqt-sNzQ

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/ktblackbooks/

Amazon Author Page: www.amazon.com/K.T.-Black/e/B00SUL7IDS

Good Reads Author Page: www.goodreads.com/KTBlack

Buy eBook Links:

LSB Author Page: http://www.lsbooks.com/wicked-magic-p995.php

Amazon US: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00SGLSLLK

Amazon UK: http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00SGLSLLK

Amazon CA: http://www.amazon.ca/dp/B00SGLSLLK

iBooks: https://itun.es/us/KV0s5.l

Barnes and Noble: www.barnesandnoble.com/s/9781622101931

Kobo: http://store.kobobooks.com/en-US/ebook/wicked-magic-2
ARe: https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-wickedmagic-1756616-149.html

Bio:

K.T. Black often mixes genres when creating her romance stories. Whether her (F/F or F/M) stories are filled with witches or regular people, they frequently include mystery/suspense, sci-fi, fantasy or paranormal elements. She never limits the direction her imagination takes her when telling a good story.

When she’s not writing, she enjoys spending time with family and friends, going to movies, cooking, traveling, playing video games, and meeting interesting/eccentric people–many of whom help color the worlds she creates while writing.

Blurb:

Imagine Cinderella falling for the seductive charms of the Evil Queen. Wicked Magic is a modern retelling of an old favorite.

Magic is in the air after Chandler Gray silently wishes for her predictable work-filled life to change. When a mysterious woman, fascinated with beautiful images, moves in next door, Chandler finds herself falling under the spell of the last person she expects to make her happy. There’s just one problem:  an ex-girlfriend with a grudge and the power to curse her happiness.

10 responses »

  1. Thanks Natalie, Annette & Tess. I appreciate the well wishes. It’s good to be here today to share some things me and my writing.

    I would also like to mention that I am doing a giveaway for my eBook Wicked Magic on rafflecopter. The entry form is on my blog site at http://www.ktblackbooks.com.

Leave a Reply

